The Super Earths
01- K-11
02- Migrating Worlds
03- Gliese 581
04- Goldilocks
05- 51 Pegasi
06- Doppler Effect
07- Rhythmic Shift
08- Eccentric Giants
09- Transitters
10- Mu Arae
11- Intermediate World
12- Worlds Observed
13- Extra Solar Earths
14- Migrant Worlds
15- Accretion
16- Core Accretion
17- Disk Erosion
18- Planetary Embryos
19- The Protected Zone
20- Ecosphere
21- Ecosphere II
22- Beta Pictoris
23- Vanquishing Starlight
24- Red Edge / Earth Shine
25- Distant Continents
26- The Age of Stars

21 - Ecosphere II

Click here for enlarged diagram


This brings us to Mercury and the Pre-cambrian Earth and the full sequence of an Earth’s life-cycle as outlined in ‘The Visible Earths’. See 'Mercury' and 'Full Sequence'.

By the time the ecosphere is sufficiently clear so that the development of Earths is not threatened, the disk of gas and dust swirling around the star has been reduced to an outer-lying belt of more rubble-like debris. I believe this belt can be seen in this solar system in the form of the asteroid belt that lies mostly between Mars and Jupiter.

For the rest of this sequence see the ‘Asteroids’ section in ‘The Visible Earths’. ( this is where accretion is applied in this model, as the main process in the transformation from rock planet to gas giant, rather than as the primary source of generating the core and rock sphere in the beginning )

  Alan Lambert 2011